IADIS International Conference Information Systems Post-implementation and Change Management 2013 (part of the MCCSIS 2013 Conference)


The International Conference on Information Systems Post-implementation and Change Management 2013 (part of the IADIS Multi Conference on Computer Science and Information Systems 2013) was held in Prague, Czech Republic, 22 to 24 July, 2013.

The Information Systems Post-implementation and Change Management (ISPCM) 2013 conference provided a forum for the discussion of IS in such a socio-technological perspective. It covered the issues related to use, exploitation, maintenance of IS in organizations, focusing on the post-implementation phase of the IS life-cycle. Discussed the impacts and effects of the introduction of new technological artefacts' in human activity systems and exploring the much need management of these processes. The conference discussed these issues in the context of IS professional practice, research and teaching.

ispcm2013Submissions were accepted under the following six main topics: IS Change Management in Practice and Organisational Processes; Post-implementation Change Management and Risk Thinking; IS Professional Issues; Change Management Processes; IS Development Cycle and Change Management; Research Methods and Methodologies in Post-Implementation and Change Management

The ISPCM 2013 received 21 submissions from more than 9 countries. Each submission had been anonymously reviewed by an average of five independent reviewers, to ensure that the accepted submissions were of a high standard. Consequently only 3 full papers were approved which meant an acceptance rate of 14 %. A few more papers were accepted as short papers, and for the reflection paper and poster categories. The best paper authors were invited to publish extended versions of their papers in the International Journal of Qualitative Information Systems (IJQISR) and an extended version of the best papers will be published in the IADIS International Journal on Computer Science and Information Systems (ISSN: 1646-3692).

Besides the presentation of full papers, short papers, reflection paper and poster, the conference also included one keynote presentation given by Professor Susan Williams, University of Koblenz, Germany.

Keynote presentation

ispcm2013a"Inquiry for Change: Designing Flexible and Interactive Research"

by Professor Susan Williams,

University of Koblenz, Germany


The call forpapers for the ISPCM conference focuses on two key aims. The first acknowledges and emphasises the socio-technical nature of post-implementation change, giving visibility to the impacts and effects of introducing new technological artifacts into human activity systems. This calls for research designs that are sensitive to the local, situated and contingent aspects of change as it emerges in organisations over time.

Second, the ISPCM conference aims to discuss these sociotechnical issues of post-implementation change in the context of professional practice, research and teaching. This raises questions about the nature of our research designs and their relevance for these three constituencies. It requires us to reflect on ourselves as researchers and the ways that we conduct our research and to what ends.

This keynote presentation addresses the subject of sociotechnical change and asks questions about how we can construct flexible and interactive research designs that directly engage with the messy, complex problems that constitute human activity systems and that provide actionable insights for multiple constituencies. The concluding remarks propose a return to more value-sensitive, participatory and reflexive forms of scholarly research.

The Information Systems Post-implementation and Change Management 2013 conference proceedings was published in Book (ISBN: 978-972-8939-94-6).

Program Committee Members:
Alea Fairchild, Hogeschool Universiteit Brussel, Belgium
Andreas Gadatsch, Bonn-rhein-sieg University Of Applied Sciences, Germany
Audrey Grace, University College Cork, Ireland
Broos Maenhout, University Gent, Belgium
Cesar Alexandre De Souza, University Of São Paulo, Brazil
Chiara Francalanci, Politecnico Di Milano, Italy
Ciara Heavin, University College Cork, Ireland
Crispin Coombs, Loughborough University, United Kingdom
Emil Numminen, Blekinge Institute Of Technology, Sweden
Fabio Schreiber, Politecnico Di Milano, Italy
Faiez Gargouri, Isims, Tunisia
Gerry Urwin, Coventry University , United Kingdom
Gianluigi Viscusi, Disco - University Of Milano-bicocca, Italy
Gunilla Myreteg, Uppsala University, Sweden
Hai Wang, Saint Mary's University, Canada
Hamid Nosratabadi, Islamic Azad University, Iran
Hugo Rehesaar, Griffith University, Australia
Ilaria Lombardi, Universita Degli Studi Di Torino, Italy
Ioannis Karavasilis, University Of Macedonia, Greece
Jan Devos, Ghent University, Belgium
Juergen Sauer, University Of Oldenburg, Germany
Juha Kontio, Turku University Of Applied Sciences, Finland
Kavoos Mohannak, Queensland University Of Technology, Australia
Kevin Grant, University Of Sussex, United Kingdom
Khaled Khankan, Taibah University, Saudi Arabia
Kostas Zafiropoulos, University Of Macedonia, Greece
Lena-maria Oberg, Mid Sweden University, Sweden
Lincoln Wood, Auckland University Of Technology, New Zealand
Magda David Hercheui, Westminster Business School, United Kingdom
Marco Comerio, University Of Milano-bicocca, Italy
Marianna Sigala, University Of The Aegean, Greece
Matthew Hinton, Open University, United Kingdom
Mohamed Sellami, Telecom Sudparis, France
Mokhtar Amami, Royal Military College Of Canada, Canada
Najoua Bouaka, Ensi Bourges, Brazil
Paul Jones, Plymouth University, United Kingdom Philipp Brune, University Of Applied Sciences Neu-Ulm, Germany
Pouria Goldasteh, University of Tehran, Iran
Rami Sellami, Telecom Sudparis, France
Rebecca Deneckere, University Paris 1 Sorbonne, France
Riccardo Spinelli, Universita Di Genova, Italy
Rim Faiz, University Of Carthage - Ihec, Tunisia
Saad Alharbi, Taibah University, Saudi Arabia
Shen Xu, University Of Reading, United Kingdom
Shushma Patel, London South Bank University, United Kingdom
Sidnei Bergamaschi, Unesp, Brazil
Souad Mohamed, University Of Westminster, United Kingdom
Stefano Bocconi, TU Delft AND Cyntelix, Netherlands
Stefano Travelli, Cyntelix, Netherlands
Steve Martin, University Of East London, United Kingdom
Sunil Choenni, University Of Twente And Ministry Of Justice, Netherlands
Suriadi Suriadi, Queensland University Of Technology, Australia
Sven Hartmann, Clausthal University Of Technology, Germany
Tsai-hsin Chu, National Chiayi University, Taiwan
Vasiliki Vrana, Technological Education Institute Of Serres, Greece
Walter Castelnovo, University Of Insubria, Italy
Wassim Jaziri, College of Computer Science and Engineering, Saudi arabia
Wim Laurier, Facultés Universitaires Saint-Louis, Belgium
Ygal Bendavid, Université Du Québec À Montréal, Canada
Yilun Shang, University Of Texas At San Antonio, Usa
Zorn Steffen, Curtin Business School, Australia


Social Media Links